Drivers in New York are often plagued with inclement weather and consistent traffic that makes car accidents seem inevitable. Thus, it is important that drivers ensure their vehicles are properly insured. Pursuant to New York law, to register a vehicle a driver must have car insurance. Car insurance protects the driver from personal liability if they are involved in an accident.

Minimum Car Insurance Coverage

The minimum car insurance policy a driver operating their vehicle in New York must obtain includes:

$10,000 for property damage for a single accident.

$25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for death for a person involved in an accident.

$50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death for two or more people in an accident.

$50,000 mandatory no-fault coverage, or personal injury protection (PIP).

Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 for all persons

Personal Injury Protection Insurance

New York is one of a handful of states that require drivers to have personal injury protection (PIP). Personal injury protection, also known as no-fault coverage, can help drivers and their injured passengers cover their expenses after they have been injured in an accident. PIP insurance is applicable regardless of who was at fault for the accident. Expenses covered by PIP insurance include medical bills and lost wages. However, PIP insurance does not cover property damage, vehicle theft, or vehicle damage.

Proof of New York Car Insurance

The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) mandates that drivers provide proof that their vehicle is properly insured. A driver may provide this proof in two ways. First, the insurance company will electronically notify the DMV that you have insured your vehicle. Second, your insurance company will provide you with two original New York State insurance identification cards. The driver will keep one of the original insurance cards in their vehicle to provide proof of insurance in the event that they are stopped by police or involved in an accident. The second insurance card must be provided to the DMV when the driver registers their vehicle. The DMV will keep the second insurance card on file.

Insurance Costs and Discounts

Insurance costs can vary greatly. The cost of your car insurance will depend on several factors including your age, gender, marital status, driving record, vehicle, and zip code. To determine the appropriate premium an individual should pay, insurance companies rely on statistics. For example, a young driver will pay a higher premium for car insurance when compared to an older driver because statistics show that young drivers have a greater risk of being involved in an accident. Similarly, male drivers under the age of twenty-five are more likely to be involved in a car accident when compared to their female peers. Thus, young men pay a higher premium.

Hire an Attorney that Specializes in Car Accidents

At The New York Personal Injury & No-fault Collections Law Firm, we understand the pain and hardships that our clients face following an injury. Whether your injury occurred due to another’s negligence or at work, we can assist you in recovering medical expenses, lost income, and the peace of mind you deserve.

As a Long Island car accident law firm with over twenty years of experience, we know how deceitful insurance companies are when it comes to paying you less than you deserve. With The New York Personal Injury & No-fault Collections Law Firm, our clients are assured that their attorney is working tirelessly to ensure that they receive the settlement they deserve.

These reasons make it essential that you get compensation for your injuries from a New York personal injury lawyer. Our legal team at The New York Personal Injury & No-fault Collections Law Firm provides a wide range of services, including personal injury and no-fault collections, business litigation, and more. Call or text 1 (833) TONALAW today for more information.